Twitter has been developing algorithm-assisted technology that will flag tweets as abusive before you’ve even read them.

Messages that contain offensive content are filtered into an “additional messages” folder, where the message preview is removed.

Instead, users will see “This message is hidden because it may contain offensive content.”  You can still view the message if you choose to, or you can delete it straight away.

The feature isn’t ready for release just yet; some inappropriate messages are being skipped over, and others are being wrongfully marked as harmful.

Once the algorithm has been perfected, this feature is sure to be something that many of us will appreciate.

Source: engadget

Comments