Microsoft may bring back Skype Split Window View mode (concept videos)

Microsoft will soon be retiring Skype 7, and with it Split Window View,  which lets users split their chats into their own windows, making it much easier to conduct multiple conversations, to the annoyance of many.

Now it appears that Microsoft has heard the outcry, as they are conducting a survey on bringing back Split Windows View, and also how exactly it should look and work.

It appears there are 3 options – Split, Hub and Tabbed.

Split

Microsoft describes it as below:

You enable a special split mode view of Skype. In this mode, all recent conversations and contacts are displayed in a narrow window.

When you open a conversation from the list or an incoming notification, it opens in a new, independent window.

All open conversations are displayed individually in the desktop task bar.

Hub

Microsoft describes it as below:

You do not need to enable a special split view mode of Skype. Instead, all your conversations are included in the combined Skype hub view. You can split off any conversation you choose into a new, individual window.

When you open a conversation from the hub or a notification, the conversation window is brought to the foreground so you can respond.

The main Skype hub and any split off windows are displayed in the task bar.

Tabbed

Microsoft describes it as below:

You enable a special split mode view of Skype. In this mode, all recent conversations and contacts are displayed in a narrow window.

When you open a conversation from the list or an incoming notification it opens in a new window.

If you open multiple conversations the are tabbed together into a single window, but you can drag to open a new window for individual conversations if you like.

All open conversations are displayed individually on the desktop task bar.

Take Microsoft’s survey here to let them know which version you prefer.

Via Peter Skillman

Some links in the article may not be viewable as you are using an AdBlocker. Please add us to your whitelist to enable the website to function properly.

Related
Comments