Android users can now disable background location sharing with Facebook

Apple offers better location information control on its mobile platform. On iOS, you can decide whether to share your precise location always, only when the app is in use, or never. On the other hand on Android, you can either totally enable location info sharing or disable it. In order to allow users to have more control of their location data, Facebook today announced new location controls on its Facebook app for Android. Android users can now disable background location information sharing with Facebook.

For people who previously chose to turn their Location History setting “on,” the new background location setting is “on.” For people who had turned Location History “off” – or never turned it on in the first place – the new background location setting is “off.”

Facebook is also alerting all users who chose to turn on Location History in the past about this new control. Even on iOS, Facebook will be sending similar alerts so that users can check to make sure their current location settings are right for them.

Source: Facebook

Comments