Wi-Fi Alliance simplifes naming system, the next gen 802.11ax tech will be called WiFi 6


3, 2018

Author Pradeep // in News

Today, the Wi-Fi Alliance announced a simplified naming system that will indicate major Wi-Fi technology versions. Instead of complex names such as 802.11n or 802.11ac, the new system identifies Wi-Fi generations by a numerical sequence. For example, the next gen Wi-Fi based on 802.11ax technology will be called Wi-Fi 6.

  • Wi-Fi 6 to identify devices that support 802.11ax technology
  • Wi-Fi 5 to identify devices that support 802.11ac technology
  • Wi-Fi 4 to identify devices that support 802.11n technology

Key benefits of Wi-Fi 6 technology include:

  • Higher data rates
  • Increased capacity
  • Good performance in dense environments
  • Improved power efficiency

“For nearly two decades, Wi-Fi users have had to sort through technical naming conventions to determine if their devices support the latest Wi-Fi,” said Edgar Figueroa, president and CEO of Wi-Fi Alliance. “Wi-Fi Alliance is excited to introduce Wi-Fi 6, and present a new naming scheme to help industry and Wi-Fi users easily understand the Wi-Fi generation supported by their device or connection.”

Source: WiFi Alliance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}