Xbox Voice Commands Will Only Support 5 Languages At Launch

Our friends at Videogamer read the small print at the bottom of Microsoft’s ‘Get the Facts’ page on the Xbox website which reads:

“Xbox voice commands will not be available in all markets on the product release date. Voice commands will be available at launch in US, UK, CA, FR, and DE.” Of the 13 markets where the Xbox One will be available this November, players in the following countries will have more limited access to voice commands: Australia, Austria, Brazil, Italy, Ireland, Mexico, Spain and New Zealand.

Of course you can use the Xbox One without using the voice commands, so not need to over-react to this.  I’m sure the Kinect will receive updates over time and support the remaining countries.

The Next Web Reports:

As Albert Penello, Microsoft’s head of product development, told OXM earlier this week, the Xbox One is also region-free, so anyone should be able to import the console from a region where voice commands are supported.

“In regions like Switzerland where people speak German and French, they can get a German or French console,” said Penello. “It’ll work fine. They can log in to their marketplace, use their language, we don’t geo-fence Live or any of the content any more. We don’t have official language support – but the console still works.”

Source: The Next Web

Some links in the article may not be viewable as you are using an AdBlocker. Please add us to your whitelist to enable the website to function properly.