The long-awaited sequel to Crackdown 2, the aptly named Crackdown 3, is almost here. The release date is set for February 15th but, if you’re an Xbox Insider, you can access the Wrecking Zone as early as tomorrow.

The Wrecking Zone is described as ‘the fully-destructible Azure cloud-powered multiplayer mode’. It’s built on cutting edge technology that uses the cloud in a whole new way. All this fancy talk means that players can now wreak havoc on a scale that has never been seen before.

The technical test for the Wrecking Zone is being opened so that Crackdown 3’s developers can get feedback from the players themselves to ensure the smoothest gameplay experience upon launch.

If you’re interested in joining the technical test and dishing out a whole new level of mayhem, just be aware that you must be an Xbox Insider. You can find out how to join the Xbox Insider Program here.

The Wrecking Zone Technical Test starts on Thursday, February 7th. You can install the game from 9AM PST/12PM EST/5PM UTC and playtests start at 12pm PST/3pm EST/8PM UTC.

Members of the Xbox Insider Program will play the Agent Hunter game mode on the Blackout Zone map. Players score points by taking out opposing Agents and collecting their badges.

More playtest sessions over the weekend will be announced on the Xbox Insider Hub, Discord, and on Crackdown 3’s Facebook and Twitter, so keep your eyes peeled!

Set 10 years after the events of Crackdown 2, Crackdown 3 follows the player characters after they’re called into the field following a mysterious terror attack. Players must do everything they can to dismantle the terrorist organisation behind the attack.

Crackdown 3 is set to be released on Xbox One and Windows 10 PCs on February 15th. The game will be instantly available on release date at no extra charge for Xbox Game Pass subscribers.

Source: Xbox Blog.

Comments