No-one wants to be added to random groups without your permission, yet this is a common feature in a number of messaging services.

WABetaInfo reports that WhatsApp is finally rolling out globally their Group Privacy feature, which would give users more control over who can add then to group chats.

Users now have one of 3 options for who can add then to a group: “Nobody”, “My Contacts”, or “Everyone”. “Nobody” means you’ll have to approve joining every group to which you’re invited, and “My Contacts” means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups.

In those cases, the person adding you to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving you the choice of joining the group. You’ll have three days to accept the invite before it expires.

Testing of the feature started in April in India and it is now going global. It requires WhatsApp Build 2.19.110.20 for iOS and is also available for Android.

To enable the feature, go to Settings in your app, then tap Account > Privacy > Groups.

Via WABetaInfo

Comments