Microsoft today announced that the company is killing Skype’s Managed Accounts feature. For those unfamiliar, the Skype Managed Accounts allowed multiple users to control a single account. If you own a Skype Managed Account, your account will become a personal Skype account from 29th March 2016. In an email to users who own a Skype Managed Account, Microsoft stated:
“From 29 March 2016, Skype Managed Accounts will be come personal Skype accounts. As a result, users will gain more control over their account and be able to buy credits and other paid products directly – instead of via a Skype Manager Adminstrator.”
So what happens after your Managed Account is converted into a personal account? Microsoft explains:
Prior to the transition date, a Skype Manager administrator may take back allocated Skype Numbers and Skype Credit from a Managed Account.
After the transition, Managed Accounts will change to personal accounts. As a Skype Manager administrator, you will no longer be able to perform all the administrative functions you were previously able to on these accounts. You can still assign Skype Credit amounts, subscriptions and Skype Numbers to personal accounts but you will no longer be able to reset passwords or delete these accounts.
Following the transition, allocated subscriptions, Skype Credit or Skype Numbers associated with a personal account may not be retrievable by the Skype Manager administrator and content or material associated with Managed Account may no longer be accessible by the Skype Manager administrator.
You can find out more about the upcoming change for Skype Managed Accounts here. Nonetheless, if you use a Managed Account, let us know what you think of the latest announcement in the comment section below.