Key proposals that got approval at Microsoft’s annual shareholders meeting

Microsoft’s annual shareholders meeting happened yesterday. Chief Executive Officer Satya Nadella, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Amy Hood and President and Chief Legal Officer Brad Smith spoke to shareholders about opportunities that lies ahead for Microsoft.

“Every customer is looking for both innovative technology to drive new growth, and a strategic partner that can help them build their own digital capability,” Satya said. “Microsoft will continue to deliver differentiated solutions using new technologies, like cloud, artificial intelligence and mixed reality, to empower our customers to grow and thrive.”

The following proposals were acted at the meeting:

  • Re-elected 10 directors and elected four new directors to serve until the next annual meeting of the shareholders: Reid Hoffman, partner at Greylock Partners; Hugh Johnston, vice chairman and chief financial officer of PepsiCo Inc.; Penny S. Pritzker, founder and chairman of PSP Capital and former U.S. Secretary of Commerce; and Arne Sorenson, president and chief executive officer of Marriott International. All director nominees received a vote of more than 98 percent of votes cast.
  • Approved, on a nonbinding advisory basis, the fiscal year 2017 compensation of the company’s named executive officers. The advisory measure received more than 95 percent of votes cast.
  • Approved a yearly advisory vote on executive compensation. The advisory measure received more than 90 percent of votes cast.
  • Ratified the selection of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the company’s independent auditor for fiscal year 2018, with over 98 percent of votes cast.
  • Approved material terms of the performance goals under the Microsoft Corporation Executive Incentive Plan, with a vote of more than 98 percent of votes cast.
  • Approved the Microsoft Corporation 2017 Stock Plan, with a vote of 96 percent of votes cast.

Source: Microsoft