Google killing the integration between Google Drive and Google Photos

Until now, new photos and videos you add in Google Drive will automatically show in Google Photos. Similarly, new photos and videos you add in Google Photos will be added to the Photos folder in Drive. Google is removing this integration to avoid confusion.

Starting in July, this sync will not happen. Photos and videos you delete in Drive will not be removed from Photos. Similarly, items you delete in Photos will not be removed from Drive. Any photos or videos from Drive in Photos that you have uploaded will remain in Photos. If you have a “Google Photos” folder in Drive, it will remain in Drive, but because of this change, they will no longer update automatically.

For people who would like to have photos from Drive to appear in Photos, Google is adding a new feature to photos.google.com called “Upload from Drive,” which will allow you to manually choose photos and videos from Drive, including “Shared with Me” items, to import into Photos. Since both the products are decoupled, items copied in Original Quality will count towards your storage quota in both Drive and Photos.

If you want to upload your photos to both the service, you should use Backup and Sync on Windows or macOS.

Source: Google

Some links in the article may not be viewable as you are using an AdBlocker. Please add us to your whitelist to enable the website to function properly.

Related
Comments