Attention webOS Developers: Here Is The Message From Microsoft To You All

image

As you all know Microsoft is keen on providing necessary resources  and guidance for webOS developers in getting started with Windows Phones. Brandon Watson, Director of Developer Experience got over 1000 emails so far from the webOS developer community regarding developing for Windows Phones. He has been busy for the past two days in preparing to reply them all. Here is the email sent out to all the webOS developers. You can share it with your webOS friends ! !

EMAIL :

“First things first. Thank you so much for reaching out to the Windows Phone team to signal your interest in bringing your talents to our platform. To be honest, we didn’t expect this level of response, so we were caught a bit flatfooted. It took a few days (on the weekend) to pull all the mails together into one place to allow me to respond in a smart way and not retype every mail by hand.  Consider this a first step in building a relationship with the Windows Phone team.  We are psyched to have you aboard and to see what your imagination can do on the Windows Phone canvas.

Getting Started With Windows Phone

First things first.  Thank you so much for reaching out to the Windows Phone team to signal your interest in bringing your talents to our platform.  To be honest, we didn’t expect this level of response, so we were caught a bit flatfooted.  To avoid retyping the same mail over and over again, we spent the extra time to load the mails into our CRM system so we could ensure we were following up with each of you.

Here are some of the common questions we have received: Where do you get the tools?  What is the App Hub?  How do you submit apps?  Where can I get a phone?

We pulled together a set of links to get you going on your path.  You will find that content in a table at the bottom of the mail.  It should get you well on your way, and we have a great community of MVP support, which can be found on the App Hub forums, or on Twitter (#wpdev is the hashtag).

Insofar as training, we have arranged to have a 2 day, live, streamed training event about how to build apps for Windows Phone.  It is coming up this week.

Registration: http://bit.ly/Mango-Jump

It’s important to note that while this will be delivered live and streamed, but that we will also be posting the recorded version of the videos online shortly after the completion of the training event.

Students

If you are a student developer, your best first stop is to contact Ben Lower on our team.  He is spearheading the academic efforts for Windows Phone.  His email is PhoneNinja@microsoft.com and his twitter is @BenLower.

Mobile Champs

Our mobile champs are our developer evangelists in your area.  They are empowered to do whatever it takes to make you successful.  They will have invites to in person Windows Phone training events, access to coding resources, will be able to introduce you to our marketing programs once your apps are in Marketplace, and they have phones and tokens for App Hub accounts (if cost of an account is a hardship).  Here’s the list of champs

CountryMobile Champ & Email
AustraliaChris Bright Chris.Bright@microsoft.com

Dave Glover (DPE MELBOURNE) dglover@microsoft.com

AustriaAndreas Schabus Andreas.Schabus@microsoft.com

Max Knor Max.Knor@microsoft.com

BelgiumKatrien De Graeve Katrien.DeGraeve@microsoft.com

David Hernie dhernie@microsoft.com

BrazilSilvia Valadares silviav@microsoft.com

Caio Chaves Garcez caiog@microsoft.com

CanadaPaul Laberge paul.laberge@microsoft.com

Joey DeVilla joey.devilla@microsoft.com

Chile Wilson Pais wilson.pais@microsoft.com
ChinaLiwei Zhao liweiz@microsoft.com

Felix Yan Felix.Yan@microsoft.com

Simon Duan simon.duan@microsoft.com

Czech RepublicFilip Rehorik Filip.Rehorik@microsoft.com
ColumbiaWalter Novoa (Adecco) v-wnovoa@microsoft.com

Ricardo Marulanda ricardo.marulanda@microsoft.com

DenmarkBjarne Dollerup Bjarne.Dollerup@microsoft.com
FinlandJukka Wallasvaara Jukka.Wallasvaara@microsoft.com
FranceAntoine Markarian antoinem@microsoft.com

Pierre Cauchois pierreca@microsoft.com

Alex Danvy Alex.Danvy@microsoft.com

GermanyFrank Prengel Frank.Prengel@microsoft.com

Bernhard Carli bernhard.carli@microsoft.com

GreeceGina Tiriakidou ginati@microsoft.com
Hong KongAndy Cheung (HK DPE) ancheung@microsoft.com
HungaryZsolt Batorfi zbatorfi@microsoft.com
IndiaGirish C Joshi girishcj@microsoft.com
IndonesiaIrving Hutagalung irving.hutagalung@microsoft.com
IrelandDave Northey daven@microsoft.com
ItalyRoberto Cavallini Roberto.Cavallini@microsoft.com

Lorenzo Barbieri Lorenzo.Barbieri@microsoft.com

JapanShinobu Takahashi Shinobu.Takahashi@microsoft.com

Akira Onishi aonishi@microsoft.com

KoreaJinho Seo jinho.seo@microsoft.com

Kyoung Yoon Kim kykim@microsoft.com

MalaysiaHoong Fai Lai lai.hoongfai@microsoft.com
MexicoEdgar Omar Aviles Rosas Omar.Aviles@microsoft.com
NetherlandsMatthijs Hoekstra Matthijs.Hoekstra@microsoft.com
New ZealandNigel Parker nigel.parker@microsoft.com

Mike Zeff mike.zeff@microsoft.com

NorwayPetri Tapio Wilhelmsen petwil@microsoft.com
PhilippinesZandra Nicolas alnichol@microsoft.com
PolandBartlomiej Zass Bartlomiej.Zass@microsoft.com
PortugalNuno Silva Nuno.Silva@microsoft.com
Puerto RicoYamille Morales ymorales@microsoft.com
RussiaMik Chernomordikov mikcher@microsoft.com

Vladimir Kolesnikov vladkol@microsoft.com

SingaporeChris Ismael chism@microsoft.com
South AfricaNyaladzi Mpofu nmpofu@microsoft.com
SpainIsabel Gomez Miragaya isabelg@microsoft.com

Elisa Garcia Anzano elisa.garcia@microsoft.com

SwedenDag König dagk@microsoft.com
SwitzerlandStefano Malle Stefano.Malle@microsoft.com

Sascha Corti sascha.corti@microsoft.com

TaiwanEric ShangKuan ericsk@microsoft.com
ThailandEkaraj Kongswangwongsa ekarajk@microsoft.com
UK William Coleman wcoleman@microsoft.com

Paul Foster paulfo@microsoft.com

Mike Ormond Mike.Ormond@microsoft.com

USJoe Shirey joe.shirey@microsoft.com

Reza Alizadeh rezaali@microsoft.com

Christian Thilmany christhi@microsoft.com

Max Zilberman max.zilberman@microsoft.com

Rob Cameron Rob.Cameron@microsoft.com

Phones

We have phones for developers committed to building apps and games for Windows Phone.  This isn’t a free ride program where we just hand out phones to people because they say they want one.  When you connect with your local champ, you are building a relationship that will hopefully last a long time.

We have current retail phones, and in the coming weeks/months, we will have updated Mango retail hardware phones.  We also have prototype Mango devices (which have the gyros not available on current retail devices), so if you are building an app which requires Mango hardware, you can make an ask of those as well.

Online Resources

TopicWhat is it?Link
App HubThe central repository for all things Windows Phone for developers.  This is where you will go to create an account, get the tools, submit and manage your apps, participate in forums, etc.http://create.msdn.com
Getting StartedYour first stop to get going on devhttp://wpdev.ms/startwpdev
DownloadsThe dev tools – FREE – are herehttp://wpdev.ms/wpdowns
RegistrationSome people need a little extra help, and this walkthrough of the developer registration should be usefulhttp://wpdev.ms/regwalk
SubmissionsA little extra help on the submission process.http://wpdev.ms/subwalk
Certification RequirementsOK, your app is done, but will it pass cert?  We aim to give you plenty of visibility into the process and be very transparent on why your apps failed, but please read through this.http://wpdev.ms/certreq
Jump StartA video series sponsored by Channel9, our developer focused online video destination portal.http://wpdev.ms/jumpstarts
Design DayEvery developer could probably use a little extra help with their app design.  Here are some great tutorials all about the Metro UI design language for Windows Phone.http://wpdev.ms/designday
Absolute BeginnersThere’s always the possibility that you are big on ideas, but maybe not so much on dev skills.  That’s OK.  We have a great course which will get you up to speed even if you are an absolute beginner.http://wpdev.ms/beginvids
Mango Hands On LabsIf you want to dig a little deeper, but prefer the lab walkthrough format, we have some great labs here for you.http://wpdev.ms/mangohol
clip_image002brandon watson | sr. director
windows phone apps
@brandonwatson
+1(425) 985-5568

”

Some links in the article may not be viewable as you are using an AdBlocker. Please add us to your whitelist to enable the website to function properly.

Related
Comments